Media Release – 2023 Alberta Book Publishing Awards Now Accepting Submissions

Edmonton – The Book Publishers Association of Alberta (BPAA) is now accepting submissions for the 2023 Alberta Book Publishing Awards.

Established in 1994, the Alberta Book Publishing Awards recognize and celebrate the best of the Alberta book publishing industry. The awards are adjudicated by experts and publishing professionals from across Canada, who select the very best examples of Alberta publishing in up to 17 award categories.

This year, we are excited to announce the addition of the Mystery and Thriller Book of the Year award. This award will showcase the exceptional mystery, crime, noir, and thriller fiction titles released in Alberta each year. “As the critical, central piece of the storytelling process, Alberta book publishers ensure Alberta’s Story gets told through a variety of genres,” says Kieran Leblanc, Executive Director of the BPAA. “We are pleased to expand our awards program and continue to recognize the breadth of titles published in Alberta.”

The awards are open to all Alberta-owned and -controlled publishers, and nominated books must have been published between January 1, 2022 and December 31, 2022. Submissions will be accepted until February 28, 2023. For more information on the awards submissions, eligibility, and process, please visit the Alberta Book Publishing Awards webpage

The winners of the 2023 Alberta Book Publishing Awards will be announced at an awards gala, tentatively scheduled for September 22, 2023. Further details will follow in the coming months.


For more information, please contact:

Kieran Leblanc, Executive Director
c: 780.918.8375

Download a PDF copy of the media release

View all news