Media Release – 2022 Alberta Book Publishing Awards Winners 

Edmonton – The Book Publishers Association of Alberta (BPAA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2022 Alberta Book Publishing Awards. These awards celebrate the essential role Alberta book publishers play in supporting authors and telling Alberta’s Story. As the critical middle piece of the storytelling process, Alberta book publishers bring stories by Alberta authors to life.

The awards gala was hosted at the Hotel Arts in Calgary, and was our first in-person event in over two years. Thank you to our funders, in particular the Government of Alberta and the Canada Book Fund, and our sponsors, Friesens, Marquis, and Houghton Boston Printers, whose contributions helped to make this event possible. 

At this year’s gala, we presented Carol Holmes, former executive director of the Writers Guild of Alberta, with a Lifetime Achievement in Publishing Award for her long standing contributions to Alberta’s literary and publishing community. We also recognized Laberinto Press and publisher Luciana Erregue Sacchi with the Emerging Publisher of the Year Award. It is a challenging job to establish a publishing company, but Laberinto Press is off to a great start and we are excited to see them grow. Congratulations to all the winning and shortlisted publishers, authors, and designers.

For those that were unable to attend, a recording of the awards gala will be available on the BPAA YouTube Channel in a few weeks. Please subscribe to our channel to be notified when it is released. We look forward to next year’s awards and the continued growth of the Alberta book publishing industry. 

Download the PDF Media Release


For more information contact: 

Kieran Leblanc, Executive Director


View all news