Media Release: 2020 Alberta Book Publishing Awards Winners Announced!

Edmonton – The Book Publishers Association of Alberta (BPAA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Alberta Book Publishing Awards. The winners represent the height of the Alberta book publishing industry as adjudicated by experts and publishing professionals from across Canada.

Although we wish we could have celebrated these achievements in person, we’re thankful to have had a wonderful virtual gala event thanks to our production company, Modern Muse, and Les Bush, our virtual gala organizer.

This year we honoured both Glass Bookshop and Alberta Views with Special Achievement in Publishing Awards. We also recognized Jerome Martin, founder of Spotted Cow Press, with the Lifetime Achievement in Publishing Award for his many years of contribution to the industry.

In addition to these awards, we presented Red Barn Books with the Emerging Publisher of the Year Award, for their promising future in the Alberta book publishing industry. The University of Alberta Press was awarded the Mel Hurtig Publisher of the Year Award, as their remarkable selection of titles over the past year demonstrate their capacity to contribute strong and meaningful content to a variety of different communities and fields of study.

Congratulations to all of the winners. We look forward to seeing the work of Alberta publishers in 2021, and in many years to come.


For more information contact:
Kieran Leblanc, Executive Director
c. 780.918.8375

2020 Alberta Book Publishing Awards Winners Media Release (PDF)

2020 BPAA Awards Program (PDF)

View all news