Book Awards

Award Trophies v2 Greyscale


Deadline Extended! The deadline for all entries has been extended until April 7, 2017. Entries postmarked on or before that date will be accepted.

The annual Alberta Book Publishing Awards celebrate excellence in book publishing in Alberta. These are publishing awards, not literary awards. They are open to BPAA members, and other Alberta publishers that meet the eligibility criteria.

This year’s Alberta Book Publishing Awards Gala will be held September 15, 2017 at the Delta Edmonton South Hotel. Winners of the Alberta Book Publishing Awards will be announced at the gala, along with Edmonton Public Library’s Alberta Reader’s Choice award.

Read the opening media release.


Submissions for the 2017 Alberta Book Publishing Awards have closed. We thank everyone for their submissions.

There are 14 categories in which books and publishers can receive awards.

Book of the Year – 7 categories: Children and Young Adult, Learning, Trade Fiction, Trade Non-Fiction, Scholarly and Academic, Speculative Fiction and Poetry

Book Design – 3 categories: Book Design, Book Cover, and Book Illustration

Lois Hole Award for Editorial Excellence – recognizing outstanding editorial work

Alberta Special Achievement Award – recognizing long-standing contributions made to Alberta book publishing

Alberta Emerging Publisher

Alberta Publisher of the Year

Please join us at the annual Book Publishing Awards Gala as we celebrate excellence in the Alberta Publishing Industry. This year’s event will be held in Edmonton, Alberta on September 15, 2017.


Everyone is welcome to be part of this celebration of excellence in Alberta’s publishing community.

Tickets will be available for purchase soon.

For more information, help with problems or to provide feedback, contact the BPAA at (780) 424 5060 or info [at]