2018 Alberta Book Publishing Award Winners

Calgary – The Book Publishers Association of Alberta 2018 Alberta Book Publishing Awards Winners. The winners represent the most outstanding work of the Alberta book publishing industry as adjudicated by experts and publishing professionals from across Canada.

At this year’s awards gala, hosted at the Hotel Arts in Calgary, the industry honoured Douglas Barbour of NeWest Press and David & Rose Scollard of Frontenac House for their lifetime achievements in publishing. We also recognized eBOUND Canada and Shannon Culver for bringing Alberta published books to libraries across the province through the innovative Read Alberta eBooks project.

Also of note was the announcement of additional funding for the book publishers of Alberta through the Alberta Media Fund. The Minister of Culture & Tourism, the Honourable Ricardo Miranda, was on hand to make that announcement. Many thanks to the Alberta Government for this show of support and to the Minister for joining us on this important day in Alberta book publishing.

Winners of 2018 Alberta Book Publishing Awards

Book Design Awards

Book Design

NeWest Press
What is Going to Happen Next
Designed by Natalie Olsen

Cover Design

NeWest Press
My True and Complete Adventures as a Wannabe Voyageur
Designed by Vikki Wiercinski

Book of the Year Awards

Children and Young Adult

Tyche Books
Maddie Hatter and the Gilded Gauge
Jayne Barnard

Robert Kroetsch Award for Poetry Book of the Year

University of Calgary Press
Fail Safe
Nikki Sheppy

Scholarly and Academic Book of the Year

Athabasca University Press
Alberta’s Lower Athabasca Basin: Archaeology and Paleoenvironments
Brian M. Ronaghan

Learning Book of the Year

Brush Education
Pathology Review & Practice Guide
Edited by Dr. Zu-hua Gao

Speculative Fiction Book of the Year

Laksa Media
Where the Stars Rise
Edited by Lucas K. Law and Derwin Mak

Trade Fiction Book of the Year

Freehand Books
Dazzle Patterns
Alison Watt

Trade Non Fiction Book of the Year

Freehand Books
The Unravelling
Clem Martini and Olivier Martini

Industry Awards

Lois Hole Award for Editorial Excellence

Freehand Books
Dazzle Patterns
Alison Watt
Edited by Rosemary Nixon

Emerging Publisher of the Year

Hingston & Olsen

Special Achievement in Publishing

Shannon Culver, eBound Canada

Lifetime Achievement in Publishing

Douglas Barbour, NeWest Press
David and Rose Scollard, Frontenac House

View all news